District Peshawar پېښور

Peshawar (Pashto: پېښور‎) is a district in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan. Until divisions were abolished as part of local government reforms in 2000 it was part of Peshawar Division. The city of Peshawar, as well as being the provincial capital, is the capital of the district. The area of the district is 1,257 km2, and at the 1998 Pakistan Census it had a population of 4,650,000 (up from 1,113,303 at the previous 1981 Census).

Civic Administration of Peshawar District
Under the latest revision of Pakistan's administrative structure, promulgated in 2001,Peshawar was given status as a City district, and divided into four towns. Each town in turn consists of a group of union councils (U.C.'s).
Administrative Towns
1.Peshawar Town I
2.Peshawar Town II
3.Peshawar Town III
4.Peshawar Town IV


The district is represented in the provincial assembly by eleven elected MPAs who represent the following constituencies:

 PF-1 (Peshawar-1)
 PF-2 (Peshawar-2)
 PF-3 (Peshawar-3)
 PF-4 (Peshawar-4)
 PF-5 (Peshawar-5)
 PF-6 (Peshawar-6)
 PF-7 (Peshawar-7)
 PF-8 (Peshawar-8)
 PF-9 (Peshawar-9)
 PF-10 (Peshawar-10)
 PF-11 (Peshawar-11)
The district is represented in the provincial assembly by two elected MPAs who represent the following constituencies: 
The original district of Peshawar was a district of the North-West Frontier Province of British India. At independence in 1947 the old Peshawar District became Peshawar Division, containing the current district of Peshawar.

Get a better hosting deal with a hostgator coupon or play poker on party poker
Copyright 2011 District Peshawar پېښور‎.
Joomla Templates by Wordpress themes free