ANP chief dissolves all party’s committees

May 11 poll debacle
ANP backs dialogue with Taliban, military intervention in Karachi
WALI BAGH: President of Awami National Party (ANP) Asfandyar Wali Khan Saturday announced dissolution of the party organisations at all levels across the country in the light of a report of the fact finding committee.
Addressing a press conference in Wali Bagh, Charsadda, Asfandyar said the party would go through a massive reorganisation in the light of a fact-finding report on the May 11 elections in which ANP suffered a massive defeat.
The ANP chief announced that an interim committee has been formed until intra-party elections were held in February 2014. He added that new office bearers would be elected through secret ballots.
The ANP chief said his party had accepted the results of the general elections despite rigging allegations for the sake of democracy. Wali further said that the ANP's election campaign was hampered by terrorism.
Asfandyar constituted an 11-member committee under the chairmanship of Senator Haji Adeel and announced to hold new intra-party elections early next year. The ANP chief announced the dissolution of the party organisations at national and provincial levels in the entire country after chairing a marathon meeting of the think tank of the party at his Wali Bagh residence.
The committee members are Senator Baz Muhammad Khan, Bushra Gohar, Rana Mubarik, Haji Shafique, Major Masroor Baig, Dr. Muhammad Akram Khan, Farooq Bangash, Sultan Mandokhel, Daud Khan advocate and  Abdul Malik Panizai.
The ANP chief also announced the party election commission for the four provinces. The election process would start in a democratic manner from September 16 by holding first the elections at union council levels and as such all the district, provincial and national levels election process would be completed by March 2014.
He said that the fact finding committee led by Bashir Khan Matta after day and night struggle ascertained point of views of the party workers amd presented a detailed report leading to the party failure in the May 11 elections. 
He said that committee criticised the membership drive and organisational matters within the party whereas the security concerns created sense of deprivations among the party workers as there was lack of coordination between the party leadership and their government.
The ANP chief maintained that the party achieved the big goals of the manifesto and completed record uplift projects but it could not be properly publicised and as such the party could not cash it on in the elections.
The opponents successfully ran their negative campaign against the ANP government to which the party leaders could not respond in effective manner. 
The lack of self accountability system and women membership drive within the party and the government also remained a fact of the party's dismal performance in the May elections.
He said that well coordinated terrorist activities also hampered the election process of their party candidates.
The ANP chief alleged that the attitude of election staff was partial in the entire electoral process and acted against the ANP candidates. Despite rigging charges we accept the results of the May elections, he told the media-men.
Asfandyar said his party supported dialogue with the Tehrik-i-Taliban Pakistan (TTP). 
"We were the first ones to hold talks with the Taliban in Swat and Buner. If the solution lies in talks we will support it," he said, adding "We will extend support to the government if needed in this regard".
Asfandyar announced that his party supported military intervention in Karachi.
Khan said he did not support an army operation in Karachi, but he did favour army intervention because de-weaponising the city without help from the soldiers would be difficult.
He said that neither did all ethnic Pukhtuns of Karachi belong to ANP nor did all Muhajir favour the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), and his party did not support anyone involved in militant activity in the metropolis.
The meeting of the think tank was attended among others by central leaders MNA Haji Ghulam Ahmed Bilour, Senator Haji Muhammad Adeel, Senator Afrasiab Khattak, former Chief Minister Amir Haider Khan Hoti, MPA Sardar Hussain Babak, Syed Aqil Shah, Nawabzada Mohsin Ali Khan,  Mian Iftikhar Hussain, Jamila Gilani, Shagufta Malik and Bushra Gohar. - APP/NNI/Statesman
Get a better hosting deal with a hostgator coupon or play poker on party poker
Copyright 2011 ANP chief dissolves all party’s committees.
Joomla Templates by Wordpress themes free